Delete Sentry provides the highest level of protection to ensure that
you can recover deleted files. This level of protection creates a
hidden directory named SENTRY. When you delete a file, Undelete moves
the file from its current location to the SENTRY directory.
The SENTRY directory is created when you load Microsoft Undelete with
Delete Sentry protection enabled. For more information on Delete
Sentry, see pages 83-89, "Recovering Deleted Files," in the "User's
Guide," or query on the following words in the Microsoft Knowledge
The hidden SENTRY directory always appears in the Shell directory tree
listing, regardless of whether or not the Display Hidden/System Files
option is selected in the File Display Options dialog box. This occurs
because the MS-DOS Shell is designed to always show directories with
the Hidden or System attribute.
If Undelete is loaded with the /LOAD switch (specifying Delete Sentry
protection), you cannot delete the files in the SENTRY directory from
the MS-DOS command prompt, Shell, or File Manager. To remove the files
in this directory, using the /PURGE switch is recommended.
To manually delete files from the SENTRY directory, restart the
computer without loading Delete Sentry and then delete the files.